2015 Bermuda Triple Crown Billfish Championship Results

Mama Who wins the 2015 Bermuda Triple Crown Billfish Championship

July 23, 2015

Mama Who in the winners’ circle

The Bermuda Triple Crown Billfish Championship consists of nine days of fishing spanning three competitions, which include the Bermuda Billfish Blast, Bermuda Big Game Classic and Sea Horse Anglers Club Billfish Tournament. Many of the most competitive fishing operations in the game attend the Triple Crown which has become one of the most coveted series of events on the tournament circuit. This year was no exception with 44 teams and 344 anglers competing in at least one of the events and 29 teams competing in all three. A total of 125 billfish were caught including 90 blue marlin, 34 whites and one roundscale spearfish. Four of the blue marlin were boated and weighed in at 741, 605, 575 and 535 pounds. This year also featured the IGFA Great Marlin Race Bermuda which was a huge success with nine tags being deployed by the sponsoring owners.

The 2015 Bermuda Triple Crown Champions were Team Mama Who led by owner Elaine “Lainey” Jones and captained by Ronnie Burbage who caught six blue marlin and a white during the series. Mama Who, a spectacular 77-foot Jarrett Bay, started off strong releasing two blue marlin in the Blast earning Jones top lady angler honors. From there, all catches were by Sales de la Barre a 15-year old junior angler and godson of Jones. Sales caught his first white marlin in the Classic, but it was the Sea Horse where they broke out catching four blue marlin pushing them over the top to win the Bermuda Triple Crown Billfish Championship by a mere 100 points. Sales also earned top junior angler honors in the Classic and top overall angler in the Sea Horse which was a first by a junior angler.

_Mama Who, _also the leader in the IGFA Great Marlin Race Bermuda sponsoring and successfully tagging three fish during the competitions. The team including Elaine Jones, Capt. Ronnie Burbage, mate Will Thornhill, Robbie Davies, Sales de la Barre, Zac MacCool, Ford Rivers and Rebecca O’Dyer, received the Vanmark Championship rings, Geoffrey Smith Bronze trophies, Garmin VIRB Cameras, King Sailfish Mounts trophies, Bacardi limited edition aged rum, Fathom Custom lures, Steve Goione artwork, a Release Marine custom step box, Bonze custom lures, an ATL fuel bladder, Costa sunglasses, Tycoon Tackle Custom rods, Artic Ice Chillin Brew packs and AFTCO embroidered apparel, fighting harness, gaffs and gloves.


The top 10 teams in the BTC included:

Team Division

Rank Team Points
1 Mama Who 3200
2 Uno Mas 2900
3 Sea Toy 2800
4 Paradise One 2700
5 Mattanza 2575
6 Miss Magnolia 2500
7 Irish Ayes 2200
8 Sea Striker 2200
9 Great Escape 2000
10 Reel Addiction 2000

More Tournaments