Fourth Annual IGFA Legendary Captains & Crew Awards

The IGFA celebrates the contributions of the sport's finest.



Captains and crews are as much a part of the tapestry of game fishing as anglers and fish - and the truly great among them have woven some of the most distinct and impressive eras in our sport. On February 15, 2014 at the IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame & Museum in Dania Beach, Florida, USA, the IGFA will honor the fourth class of extraordinary seafarers who hail from Australia, Puerto Rico, and the United States, but have made a mark on fishing all over the world.

The Fourth Annual Legendary Captains & Crews Awards Ceremony will recognize Captains and Crews that have contributed to sport fishing by invention, outstanding catch or catches, or have set an outstanding example of their trade. Recipients are bestowed with the Tommy Gifford Award, named for the one of the greatest saltwater charter skippers of all time. The 2014 honorees include:

  • Capt. Mike Benitez
  • Capt. Gary Ellis
  • Capt. Bill Hatch
  • Capt. Bouncer Smith
  • Capt. Dennis "Braazaka" Wallace

Capt. Skip Smith and IGFA Hall of Fame member Mark Sosin will emcee the event, which will begin at 6 pm on Saturday, February 15, 2014. Tickets begin at $75 and table packages are available. To reserve your seat, please contact Marissa Mackel at 954-924-4236 or

To learn more about the 2014 event of past honorees, please visit the IGFA website or see more here.