Wave Paver Winner of the 2013 Abaco Beach Blue Marlin Invitational

Top Captains and Crews Competed for More Than $550,000 at the Inaugural Event

Abaco Beach Wave Paver

Abaco Beach Wave Paver

Capt. Russell Sinclair of Wave Paver along with mates Jerry Owens, Ryan House and Jason Parker topped the field and were also awarded Top Captain & Crew.Debra Todd Photography

The Inaugural 2013 Abaco Beach Blue Marlin Invitational was held June 4-7, 2013, at Abaco Beach Resort and Harbour Marina, Bahamas. Over the course of the tournament, 22 of the top boats, anglers, captains and crews in the world competed for more than $550,000.

In total, 53 billfish were caught (32 blue marlin, 17 white marlin and 4 sailfish) during the three days of fishing. Wave Paver won the overall title and the top release boat. Jr. Davis, owner of Wave Paver, was named top angler. Their catch of four blue marlin and one white marlin topped the field with 1,750 points. Capt. Russell Sinclair of_ Wave Paver_ along with mates Jerry Owens, Ryan House and Jason Parker were the Top Captain & Crew. They were presented with numerous trophies from Gray Taxidermy, an original painting from Carey Chen and a Wet Spot unit, along with a check for $163,320 that included many of the jackpot categories.

The largest blue marlin was 727 pounds and caught on Flight Plan by Joe Ferro, along with his team of Chris Peyerk, Chris Shea and Capt. Casey Hunt, as well as mates Chris Meek and Stan Hunt. Their 727-pound blue marlin along with two other blue marlin releases put them in second place overall and the big marlin was worth $165,060.

The second largest marlin was 507 pounds and was caught on_ Fa La Me_ by angler/owner Frank Rodriguez, along with Capt. Robbie Moore, crew members Tyler and Taylor Beckford and Dave Berard. They brought home a check worth $99,900 for that marlin and other jackpots.

Jichi placed second in the release jackpot and third place overall, taking home a check for $66,240. The third place release jackpot of $39,600 went to Weez in the Keys. Island Time won the trophy for the largest wahoo and Viking 55 took home the trophy for the largest mahi with a 40.2-pound fish.

With the beautiful Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina as host for the tournament, the owners, captains and crews were welcomed with an outstanding kickoff party that took place in the air-conditioned marquee tent. Thanks to sponsors such as SATCOM, VIKING, HMY YACHT SALES, XL INSURANCE, DAIMOND FISHING PRODUCTS, GRAND SLAM TACKLE, JACKS LINK, SHIMANO, COSTA, CAREY CHEN and MARLIN MAGAZINE, the tournament provided breakfast sandwiches and a special greeting every afternoon when the boats tied up. The awards dinner was a special moment with attendees from each boat and team congratulating the winners while enjoying some great food.

Next year’s Abaco Beach Blue Marlin Invitational is scheduled for June 11-14, 2014. For information, contact Skip Smith: Skip@AbacoMarlin.com.